consisting of a Legislative Assembly elected by the people. In Quebec there is a Legislative Council as well as a Legislative Assembly. A detailed description of the Provincial Governments is given at pp. 101-115 of the 1922-23 edition of the Year Book.

11.—Provinces and Territories of Canada, with Present Areas, Dates of Admission to Confederation, and Legislative Process by which Admission was Effected

Province, Territory or	Date of Admission or Creation			Legislative Process	Present Area (square miles)		
District					Land	Fresh Water	Total
Ontario	July	1,	1867	Act of Imperial Parliament — The	363,282	49,300	412,5821
Quebec	££	1,	1867	British North America Act, 1867	523,534	71,000	594,5342
Nova Scotia	14	1,	1867	(30-31 Vict., c. 3), and Imperial	20,743	325	21,068
New Brunswick	u	1,	1867	Order in Council of May 22, 1867	27,473	512	27,985
Manitoba	46	15,	1870	Manitoba Act, 1870 (33 Vict., c. 3) and Imperial Order in Council, June 23, 1870	219,723	26,789	246,5123
British Columbia	"	20,	1871	Imperial Order in Council, May 16, 1871	359,279	6,976	366,255
P.E. Island	"	1,	1873	Imperial Order in Council, June 26, 1873	2,184	4	2,184
Yukon	June	13,	1898	Yukon Territory Act, 1898 (61 Vict., c. 6)	205,346	1,730	207,076
Saskatchewan	Sept.	1,	1905	Saskatchewan Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 42)	237,975	13,725	251,7006
Alberta	44	1,	1905	Alberta Act, 1905 (4-5 Edw. VII, c. 3).	248,800	6,485	255,2855
Mackenzie	Jan.	1,	1920	[]	493,225	34,265	527,490
Keewatin	**	1,	1920	Order in Council, Mar. 16, 1918	218,460	9,700	228,160
Franklin	"	1,	1920	[]	546,532	7,500	554,032
				Totals	3,466,55 <b>6</b>	228,307	3,694,863

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The area of Ontario was extended by the Ontario Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V. c. 40). <sup>2</sup> Extended by Quebec Boundaries Extension Act, 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 45), and diminished in consequence of the award of the Judicial Committee of the British Privy Council (Mar. 1, 1927), whereby some 112,400 square miles of territory, formerly considered as part of Quebec, were assigned to Newfoundland. \*Extended by Extension of Boundaries of Manitoba Act, 1881, and Manitoba Boundaries Extension Act, 4 Too small to be enumerated. <sup>6</sup> Alberta and Saskatchewan now 1912 (2 Geo. V, c. 32). cover approximately the area formerly comprised in the districts of Assiniboia, Athabaska, Alberta and Saskatchewan, established May 17, 1882, by minute of Canadian P.C., concurred in by Dominion Parlia-By Order in Council, June 23, 1870, Rupert's Land, ment and Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895. acquired under the Rupert's Land Acts of 1867 and 1868, and the undefined Northern Territories were admitted into the Confederation. The original Northwest Territories, mentioned in the Manitoba Act, 1870, were established by the Northwest Territories Act, 1880 (43 Vict., c. 25), the district of Keewatin having been previously defined by an Act of the Dominion Parliament (39 Vict., c. 21). The provisional districts of Yukon, Mackenzie, Franklin and Ungava were defined in an Order in Council of Oct. 2, 1895, their boundaries being changed by Order in Council of Dec. 18, 1897. By Order in Council of July 24, 1905, the area of Keewatin, not included in the Northwest Territories, was annexed to the latter from Sept. 1. 1905. By the Extension of Boundaries Act, 1912, Ungava was made a part of the Province of Quebec, and the remaining area of the Northwest Territories south of 60° N. latitude was divided between Manitoba and Ontario.